My STARmeter and what does it mean?

The International Movie Database  (IMDb) is important to actors. The STARmeter  is a ranking system on IMDb, and it is updated weekly. The ranking system was created and is managed by IMDb and they alone determine how every movie and actor are ranked based upon a complicated equation. For example – this week the new Harry Potter movie “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows:  Part 1 (2010) was just released and it shot to the number one position. The key actors Emma Watson,  Daniel Radcliffe, Bill Nighy, and Richard Griffiths (to name a few) also are in the top actor slots this week.

So how does IMDb affect me and how can you help?

Each time someone visits a person’s IMDb page it has a positive effect on that person’s STARmeter.  So, any time someone goes to the IMDb page to Like it, that action automatically has a positive effect on the STARmeter because it involves a new  page view. Also. the number of views  on my IMDb page week after week and get the positive effect each time.  So VIEW away!

Of Course the most important thing is being in movie -which is the fun part as I love to act.  All credits are good but the big budget  movies really bump up the rating. I have a few of those types of movies that are going to be added to my list soon but are not on there as of yet.

When I had my first movie posted last year, I was ranked at 356,987. Now my rank varies from 22,000 to 25,000.  My goal is to break the top 10,000 this year. With another movie and a little help from my friends – it might just happen! 

P.S. If you have an IMDb account – posting on my page helps. If you post on my page a comment – I will return the favor. Thanks!

5 Comments

Filed under Acting

5 responses to “My STARmeter and what does it mean?

  1. Suzanne

    This is good information – Thanks!

  2. thank you! i was wondering what my starmeter meant.
    just getting started in this. waiting for my second movie to register on my page. only one up for now.

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1344549/

  3. Great review. I really like what I read. I am Brandon Christian

  4. Good luck in your career and thanks for the info. I’m a director here in utah and I’m always looking for talent. Send me your info. thanks!
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2506760/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1

Leave a Reply

