On the Set of “That’s My Boy” an #AdamSandler film

I promised everyone I would write about what it is like to be on  movie sets and so  I would be remiss if I did not mention Adam Sandler films. I have been on two of his films – Grown-Ups and That’s My BoyBoy and it is like nothing I have ever been on before. First of all – they are very large budget films and so there are a lot of cast, crew,  fancy machines and cameras. Also – there are a lot of extras.  In Grown-Ups, I spent the day playing at Water Wiz with hundreds of other kids while the cameras rolled. In “That’s My Boy” I was in a large auditorium with close to 1,000 other kids. They had painted the entire auditorium of the school where the set was to represent a different school and era. Big budget films are fun to be on because of all the excitement and Mr.Sandler ALWAYS takes the time to say “hi” to the crowds. He is very personable and nice.  A very quality man and a  true star!  Also – because these sets are so large – I was never able to spot myself in the actual Grown-ups movie and although That’ s My Boy has not come out yet, I can just about guarantee I won’t be in it as I was “deep background” which means there was a very large crowd and I was behind a lot of others. Also – I do not have pictures of the set as they are strickly forbidden. Some of my other movies – we were allowed to take pictures but if you tried here, you might find yourself not invited back.

I heard a rumor that Adam Sandler might come back to Boston and film some more blockbusters. I sure hope so and now that I am a member of the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) I’ll keep my fingers crossed that I perhaps I will get a featured “extra” role or small speaking part. Any other actor who reads this knows that the likelihood of this is rare, but dream big and reach for the stars – who knows – it could happen, right?

Update Jan. 27th – just announced – Adam Sandler will be coming back to Boston to film Grown Ups II!!! Fingers crossed I make it my third Sandler film :)

3 Comments

Filed under Acting, On location - film

3 responses to “On the Set of “That’s My Boy” an #AdamSandler film

  1. donna glee reim

    You tell it like it is. that is why I love background work and I agree with what you say about Adam Sandler. He is soooo nice.

Leave a Reply

